Persistent thoughts (and fears) these days …

patter

  1. The latest book manuscript disappears. It’s almost done and it would be unbearable to lose it. I can’t even comprehend coming back from theloss, having to rewrite it all. But it won’t happen. Itreally won’t. No, really. I have multiple copies, the publishers have a first version, as do reviewers, it’s in the cloud, it’s on my back up drive etc etc. Still I worry.
  1. My reference library disappears. One day I wake up and it doesn’t work anymore. Oh hang on, that has happened. That’s when the various platform developers don’t talk to each other… the new version of word doesn’t talk to the bibliographic software and the help line just says yes and the website says don’t trash your old copy of wordbecause you’ll need it for a while as we sort out ournew compatible version…. Yeah right. As it happens I didn’t trash the old version because…

View original post 350 more words

